Annual Dinner and Awards 2023-2024

Ballynahinch United held their annual awards dinner at Spa Golf Club on Saturday evening.

Club Chairman Gilbert Cromie welcomed those present and thanked committee, players, supporters and sponsors for all their hard work during what had been a successful season for both United and Swifts teams. 

Continue reading Annual Dinner and Awards 2023-2024

Match report: Saintfield United 2 – 1 B United

Ballynahinch took the short trip to Pigeon Hill to face The Saints in NAFL 1C.

It was the visitors who dominated the first half with Stuart McMullan, Sam and Robbie Lurring proving dangerous on the left, while chances for Robbie and Graeme McMullan went amiss. But Graeme finally gave Ballynahinch the lead with a well-executed finish with his left foot at the back post after Naseem Ouldhamlat’s corner had evaded everyone else.

Continue reading Match report: Saintfield United 2 – 1 B United

End of Season Awards 2021 – 2022

Ballynahinch United held their End of Season Awards Dinner at Spa Golf Club. A jubilant night despite the club’s final league standings. An exceptional meal was followed by the presentation of the club’s awards.

Diarmuid Lavery won the Swifts’ Leading Goalscorer award with 9 goals in 16 games, including a hat-trick away to Ballyvea IIs.

Managers Gareth Bingham and David Teggarty awarded their award to John McMenamin. The Swifts’ captain was a rock at the heart of the team’s defence. He proved this with outstanding performances for the first team at the latter end of the season.

The Swifts’ Players’ Player of the Year award was presented to Jamie McNeill. The young midfielder had an excellent season and continues to grow as a key member of the team. At just 18, there’s plenty of years ahead for Jamie at the club.

Matthew Shaw picked up United’s Leading Goalscorer award, bagging 14 goals in just 11 appearances, a goal every 66 minutes, including a hat-trick against both Barn United and Downshire YM. His goals also saw him pick up the Club Leading Goalscorer award.

The Manager’s Player of the Year went to Ross Murray. His performances saw him score 5 goals including the winenr against Downshire YM early in the season. His blistering pace and twinkle toes always cause trouble for the opposition.

The Big One, Players’ Player of the Year, went to Club Stalwart and ever-present Stuart McMullan. Having first picked up the award in 2012/13 and again in 2014/15, Stuart now has the coveted trophy for the third time. 25 consistent appearances and 3 Player of the Match awards and a hatful of assists helped the votes go his way.

Next, the Club’s Young Player of the Year award went to Luke Curry who performaned excellently for both teams when required.

Carlisles’ Fine Wines kindly donated a Gin Hamper to our raffle, this was won by Matthew Shaw.

Big thanks to Carlisles, Spa Golf Club and DJ Phil Cool who provided the entertainment on the evening.



Young Player of the Year

  • Luke Curry

Club Leading Goalscorer

  • Matthew Shaw


Players’ Player of the Year

  • Stuart McMullan

Manager’s Player of the Year

  • Ross Murray

Leading Goalscorer

  • Matthew Shaw


Players’ Player of the Year

  • Jamie McNeill

Manager’s Player of the Year

  • John McMenamin

Leading Goalscorer

  • Diarmuid Lavery

Match Report: B United 2 – 2 Dundonald FC

Saturday 25 September

Match Sponsor: Ulster Property Sales – Ballynahinch

A point apiece

After last week’s Border Regiment Cup victory, Ballynahinch United returned to league action and entertained Dundonald at The Millbridge.

Continue reading Match Report: B United 2 – 2 Dundonald FC