Annual Dinner & Awards Night

Ballynahinch United held their annual dinner and awards nights in the Primrose Bar, Ballynahinch last Saturday night. There was an excellent attendance and everyone was welcomed by Club Treasurer Johnny McGreevy who performed the role of master of ceremonies superbly in place of the Club Chairman who was attending a family wedding.

In his remarks he thanked everyone for attending and thanked the staff of the Primrose Bar for the excellent meal and service on the night. He also offered the club’s best wishes to owner and former United player Ted McKibbin following his recent accident.

Commenting on the season which was almost at an end he praised the work of the club officials and committee, the commitment of the team managers and players throughout the year, the encouragement given by the clubs supporter’s week in week out and the financial support given by each and every one of the clubs sponsors.

The highlight of what has been a good season for the club overall was the first team reaching the 5th Round of the Irish Cup and being drawn against Premier League opposition in the form of Coleraine. Whilst the outcome was not by any means ideal the team had performed extremely well against a well drilled semi-professional side and the club had been able to take well over a hundred supporters with them to the game which was outstanding by any stretch of the imagination.

As always the awards were all closely contested throughout the season and the outcome was as follows:

Albion: Players Player and Top Scorer – Alan Massey, Managers Player – John McMenamin.

Swifts: Managers Player & Top Scorer – Aaron ‘Beattie’ McCaffrey, Players Player – Ethan Majury and Craig McMullan.

United: Managers Player – David Boal, Players Player – David Boal & Stuart McMullan.
Top Scorer – Johnny Hunter

Overall Club Top Scorer – Aaron ‘Beattie’ McCaffrey
Young Player of the Year – Aaron Cheevers
Supporter of the Year – Robert Creighton

The annual Golden Boot award went to David Boal who despite some strong competition throughout the year achieved it for his historic achievement of BUFCs first red card in the 5th round of the Irish Cup!

Club stalwart Jimmy Brown who was so disappointed to lose out yet again to Robert Creighton in the Supporter of the Year category scooped the Groundsman of the Year/Decade award. He was presented with an antique Ards F.C. shirt signed by the team that previously reached the top flight. Former United star Terry Luring came across it last year and Wilson ‘Chico’ Hamilton replaced the glass in the frame.